When wildflowers aren’t wildflowers …

, Well done to Paul T. Corrigan, whose poem I selected as winner of Rattle Poetry “Artist’s Choice Award” in their recent Ekphrastic Challenge.

A detail from a cottage scene in the Mourne Mountains here in Northern Ireland was the visual prompt for March. I won’t spoil the surprise, but Paul’s poem Wildflowers refers to something quite far removed from the idyllic scene depicted in the landscape (a painting commission I undertook some years ago for an old lady who grew up in such a dwelling.)

I have just realised that Paul has won the Ekphrastic Challenge before, so double congratulations are due.

Oh, and just listen to the recording of his poem!

 

UPDATE!!!

Well done to Marietta McGregor who was winner of the “Editor’s Choice Award” the following week with her wonderful haibun, The Visitant.

You can also listen to her recording here.

chickens

About seaviewwarrenpoint

I am a writer, poetry facilitator and artist from Warrenpoint, Northern Ireland. My blog is https://seaviewwarrenpoint.wordpress.com/ Twitter @MarionSClarke
This entry was posted in artwork and poetry, Mountains of Mourne, Oil Painting, Original Irish Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to When wildflowers aren’t wildflowers …

  1. Interesting poem and it works well being read by a child. Clearly there was another inspiration apart from your lovely painting.

  2. I loved listening to this poem – it made the words jump out at me.

    Susan A Eames at
    Travel, Fiction and Photos

Leave a comment