‘Clock watching’ – interpreting photo haiku

The dandelion seed head, or ‘clock flower’ in the photo below inspired the accompanying  haiku. I combined the image and words in Photoshop and submitted it to the photo haiku competition organised each month by Japanese TV NHK World’s HAIKU MASTERS. Episode 11 aired earlier this week and I was delighted to discover my photo haiku had reached the final. Thanks are due to my daughter Taryn (15) who took the photo for an art project and her cousin Jules (11) who was the model. 🙂

I found it really interesting to hear how each of the judges interpreted the piece. The combination of image and words evoked three very different responses and I’d be interested to hear how you interpreted it before hearing the discussion. It starts about 07:28 minutes in for just over three minutes and will be available for viewing until March 27. The programme beings with an introduction to photo haiku and there are some great examples of the form. I particularly enjoyed the winner – a sensual but subtle photo haiku.

To view, click the link HAIKU MASTERS, wait for the video to load and press the play button.

 

clockflower-copy

 

About seaviewwarrenpoint

I am a writer and artist from Warrenpoint, Northern Ireland.
This entry was posted in haiga, haiku, photo haiku, short form poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ‘Clock watching’ – interpreting photo haiku

  1. Patsy says:

    Intersting to hear the different interpretations. I was surprised one took it so literally and assumed you were 90 – or maybe that’s just the way it was translated and he really thought you’d imagined yourself that age.

    For me it was a message not to waste our life waiting for something else, but to enjoy what and how we are now.

    • Funny, I have just mentioned my advance in years to a friend on my FB post, Patsy!

      At first I thought that it was because I normally write from direct experience, but of course the judges couldn’t know that.

      Yes, your reading was my intention. Even though she is only eleven, my niece in the photo loves wearing lipstick and nail varnish and trying to look older. When combined with the dandelion clock she is holding, I thought how sad that we wish our lives away and I imagined her grandmother remembering herself doing exactly the same at that age. Interesting that two judges mentioned the word ‘hope’, as I didn’t set out to show that. Maybe I was feeling my age when I wrote it – although not quite ninety years! 🙂

      Thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

