The Swansong of Leatherhead KT22, poem by Marion Clarke (WHEN I MOVED Poetry and Prose Series)

Ah, the memories

Silver Birch Press

The Running HorseThe Swansong of Leatherhead KT22
by Marion Clarke

As if by magic,
next door’s ginger cat appears,
muzzles its way along
the newly washed panes.

“Bye, bye, puthy tat!”
my toddler exclaims,
flattening his palms against glass.
A faint trace remains . . .
then evaporates.

A few minutes later,
ever-so-slowly,
I close the front door
of our family home.

My husband, all business,
checks passports and tickets.
I attempt to quell
the hot threat of tears,
to oppose the swell
of a hundred indecisions.

Outside, by a garden bonfire,
a sad-eyed neighbour smiles.
I watch the yellow smoke
spiral upwards . . .
then disappear.

SOURCE: Published in Poetry NI’s FourXFour Journal, Issue 14, Autumn 2014.

ABOUT THE POEM: This poem was inspired by a few lines from T.S. Eliot’s “The Lovesong of J Alfred Prufock.”

AUTHOR’S PHOTO CAPTION: The Running Horse, Leatherhead, built in the fifteenth century is…

View original post 359 more words

About seaviewwarrenpoint

I am a writer and artist from Warrenpoint, Northern Ireland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Swansong of Leatherhead KT22, poem by Marion Clarke (WHEN I MOVED Poetry and Prose Series)

  1. so so poignant…….congrats on well deserved publication

  2. E.P. Moriarty says:

    Ah The Running Horse, wonderful pub, wonderful people, especially those who had a sense of hummer and didn’t take quizzes seriously.

  3. Patsy says:

    This is really moving – pardon the pun!

  4. Magyar says:

    __ My imagined sound of this song, hammered the nail of reality; especially your line, “Bye bye puthy tat!” Then, the evaporating trace of palm prints on the window glass. Grand_!

    this foggy window
    my breath I send to a friend
    waning time

    __ My minimal senryu echo; this fading time. _m

  5. Mary Kendall says:

    A very touching and lovely poem, Marian. Very poignant indeed.

  6. debsriccio says:

    I loved reading this – a well-deserved publication 🙂

Leave a Reply

