Tasty kukai!

E diplomaThanks to inspiration from my daughter, I’m flying the flag for Northern Ireland in the latest European Quarterly Kukai.

A kukai is a haiku event in which participants write to a theme provided by the organiser, often a kigo, or ‘season word’.

After the deadline, each participant receives an anonymous list of entries and invited to vote for their favourite poems. When the results have been tallied, everyone receives an email revealing the identity of all the participants and the number of votes received for each haiku.

It’s really just for fun, but I love reading all the different interpretations of the same topic from poets around the world. This quarter, the theme was ‘food’ and my entry was inspired by my daughter Taryn’s early baking skills. 🙂

European Kukai

About seaviewwarrenpoint

I am a writer and artist from Warrenpoint, Northern Ireland.
This entry was posted in European haiku, haiku, Kukai, My Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Tasty kukai!

  1. Congratulations Marion 😊

  2. Congratulations… umm… is there a way to read your entry? I clicked on the link but it just opened a larger version of that page. Or am I missing something?

  3. barbarainoz says:

    A warm and personal one..Lovely Marion , and congrats !

  4. Patsy says:

    Congratulations, Marion.

    I’m guessing your daughter is quite enthisiatic wen handling the flour?

Leave a Reply

