Celtic Heartbeat – a video for International Haiku Poetry Day 2015

Today, 17th April 2015, is International Haiku Poetry Day.

To celebrate, The Haiku Foundation has organised a range of events with contributions from poets from all over the world. As well as face-to-face poetry gatherings in locations across the US, Hungary, Croatia and New Zealand, these include an online poetry collaboration that started just after midnight last night – EarthRise, and HaikuLife, a festival of short films. You can watch some of the resulting, very diverse films on this link, HaikuLife.

I decided to make a short video to submit to this project – my first ever – using haiku combined with my paintings and photographs. The result is Celtic Heartbeat, so named after the final haiku on the film . My daughter, Taryn, accompanied me on the bodhrán (Irish drum) on a couple of clips and we are delighted to see the video featured in HaikuLife today.

It is a little shaky in parts as it was taken holding an iPad, but I hope you enjoy it.  🙂

Oh, and it’s just 4.48 minutes long!

Carlingford Lough photo

Carlingford Lough, Warrenpoint, County Down

About seaviewwarrenpoint

I am a writer and artist from Warrenpoint, Northern Ireland.
This entry was posted in artwork and poetry, haiku, Narrow Water Castle, Narrow Water Keep, Oil Painting, Original Irish Art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Celtic Heartbeat – a video for International Haiku Poetry Day 2015

  1. really great work here Marion!

  2. Marion, this is impressive, a great deal of thought and work has gone into this video.. The pairing of image and haiku is powerful, moody and builds to a great portrait of where you live. It’s taste of Northern Ireland your location in it, overlooking the lough, And it was so good to hear your voice…A beautiful and apt title…I felt that heartbeat..xxx

  3. Eamonn. says:

    Wonderful, paintings and pictures are truly outstanding. The video isn’t too shaky it’s better than some of the so called “camera work” one sees on T.V. Lovely to hear your voice again Marion. It’s not fair that one person could be so talented !

    • Aw, thanks for your kind words, Eamon. But I’m not talented, I simply find something I enjoy doing and work at it until I’m happy with the outcome – of course, I am never totally satisfied with the results! 🙂

      marion

  4. Liz Brownlee says:

    FABULOUS! Loved every second. Are all the haiku yours? Which Powerpoint programme did you use?

    • Thanks, Liz! Yes, the poetry, artwork and photography is mine – the bodhran playing is my daughter. I did this on my iPad with iMovie after a quick demo by my husband. I spent a few days messing about with the different tools, but there must be so much I didn’t even touch upon. I’d love to do a course now 🙂

      Thanks for dropping by and I’m delighted you enjoyed it.

      marion

Leave a Reply

