Thanks to Libraries NI

I had a very enjoyable launch of my joint art exhibition, EXPO 2014, with Eirian McKay on Wednesday evening with family and invited guests in Warrenpoint Library.

I first met Eirian at an art group some years ago and, although we have shown our work together on previous occasions alongside other Warrenpoint artists, this was our first joint exhibition. We both had a range of mixed media paintings and prints on display.

My artwork is inspired by the local scenery in the area. I also write haiku poetry which is nature-based, so it’s no surprise that the sea and shore are major subjects for me when it comes to painting. I guess my work is a kind of celebration of the beauty of our local environment. However, I also quite like anything gothic and can also see beauty in the urban or unusual, and the subject of one of my pieces is a backstreet in Venice which is more of a deliciously dark and gloomy atmosphere, which is at odds with the more popular, tourist view of the city.

The pieces by Eirian, who is a creative arts outreach worker for Surestart South Armagh, are more conceptual. In other words, the concept or idea that has produced a particular painting is the most important aspect of her work. She is inspired by people, animals and places and uses a range of different mediums. She is also very interested in art as a therapeutic outlet and through her work she enjoys helping children to benefit from art as a form of self-expression.

I think our paintings really complement each other. At the launch, quite a few people commented on our poppies and sunflowers paintings working well together. I also imagine a solo exhibition might be a lonely experience, but we had a lovely time setting it all up together and chatting with lots of guests on the launch night.

Thanks to branch manager Rosemary Lavery and her library staff and our husbands who did the heavy lifting for us!

Any artists in the area seeking to exhibit their artwork should contact the library. It’s great that the library is now offering this free facility for local artists and exhibition spaces are extremely difficult to come by in Warrenpoint.

The exhibition runs until Friday 29th of August during library opening hours.

Everyone had great craic, conversation and glasses of wine on the evening  – I could definitely get used to this… 🙂

Here are some shots of our work.

2014-08-06 16.52.17

2014-08-06 16.56.21

About seaviewwarrenpoint

I am a writer and artist from Warrenpoint, Northern Ireland.
This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thanks to Libraries NI

  1. liz young says:

    Soem lovely work there – the scenic ones are great and I love the huge yellow flowers.

  2. Thanks, Liz. Those sunflowers are Rian’s and as a big Van Gogh fan I also love them. strangely enough, I have a poem based on his Cafe Terrace at Night painting in this month’s issue of A New Ulster. Here’s the link if you get a minuteto have a look. Think it’s around page 70/71/72. The brilliant work of fellow Northern Irish poet, Moyra Donaldson, follows and it is one which she critiqued for me when I attended her poetry workshop last year…I’m honoured to be in the same publication! 🙂

  3. Patsy says:

    Congratulations on the exhibition. Having a joint one sounds an excellent idea both for you and the people who come to see your work.

    See what you mean about the poppies and sunflowers. I’m guessing the sunflowers and horse are your friends and the others by you?

  4. Thanks, Patsy.

    Yes, you are almost correct – the one in the corner in Rian’s, which I really love. You can’t see it in the photo, but there is a lot of texture in this piece as sand has been mixed into the paint in the foreground.

    Its a truly beautiful piece of art.

    marion

Leave a Reply

