Haiga from the woods

As I haven’t painted (or posted on this blog for that matter!) since the summer, when I spotted a post this week from An Mayou, an artist and haiku poet from Colorado, requesting some words to accompany her excellent piece of artwork, I decided to have a go.

An-Mayou

The objective of a haiga is not to produce a haiku that simply describes what’s in the image, because the viewer/reader absorbs this information visually, but to combine it with one that is either in direct contrast with or complements the image. The resulting artistic collaboration should create a completely new narrative in the reader’s mind according to his/her own experience.

In An’s painting, the bareness of the dark trees with their stark branches suggested loneliness or grief to me, so I decided to write about a memory, in this case, the memory of spring and of someone who has departed. I hinted at the season through the use of a kigo (a season word) in this case ‘bluebells’, as they are abundant then. ‘Winter’ is itself a season that suggests death, so from the outset it is a sad path travelled in this haiga.

I am honoured that An loves the resulting haiga and has invited me to share it!

About seaviewwarrenpoint

I am a writer and artist from Warrenpoint, Northern Ireland.
This entry was posted in Art, artwork and poetry, haiga, haiku, My Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Haiga from the woods

  1. Love this…so poignant !

  2. Patsy says:

    I like it. Your words make us want to look more closely at the painting and the painting makes us think about your words.

  3. liz young says:

    That’s lovely – painting and haiga – and to have the explanation helps me to understand.

  4. madhuri says:

    The trees so stark and bare, memories of my beloved dog Coco sniffing arround.

  5. Annette says:

    Lovely.

  6. annette says:

    YW. Do you write Tanka? Short and sweet words.

    • I have written a few tanka, Annette (and to my surprise had the one I dared to submit accepted in an online journal πŸ™‚ ) and I do love the form, but I have been spending so much time studying and writing haiku which, of course, pares everything back to the bare minimum, that I find tanka is asking me to be almost ‘too sweet’ in comparison. But I really enjoy reading it.

      Thanks for dropping by πŸ™‚

      marion

  7. Kris Church says:

    The depth within what appears at first glance as simple seriously blows me away! I now want to learn more about Haiku and Haigu πŸ™‚

  8. Delighted you liked it, Kris. An excellent starting point is The Haiku Foundation http://www.thehaikufoundation.org/ as it has both beginners and advanced forums, or you could just lurk about and see what people are posting if you don’t want to jump in. If you post, you will get some great feedback on your work.

    marion

Leave a Reply

