Percussion

Percussion

platinum pond
surface drum-skin taut
a water boatman beats
his silent tatoo

 

This poem was inspired by childhood Saturdays when we used to collect frogspawn at Campbell’s Pond in Warrenpoint. I used to love watching the different bugs on the surface of the water, particularly the ‘whirlygigs’, as we called them.

I took the photo above last Saturday when my family and I went for a walk in the country. The plan was to go to the local waterworks to feed the ducks and swans, but we discovered halfway that we’d forgotten the bread. On the way, it was so cold we were able to slide the frozen surface of puddles with our feet, so after a couple of hours being healthy outdoors we went for a pub lunch in front of a log fire… bliss! 🙂

Speaking of the countryside – my online pal, Patsy Collins, is giving away her ebook on Wednesday and Thursday 28th-29th November, for anyone who wants some light reading for a winter evening. Check it out here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Escape-To-The-Country-ebook/dp/B007OA1JHC/ref=la_B004O08LRQ_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1354036129&sr=1-1

About seaviewwarrenpoint

I am a writer and artist from Warrenpoint, Northern Ireland.
This entry was posted in My Poetry, Photos, Places, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Percussion

  1. Gardner's World says:

    What a lovely story! Sounds like a great day

  2. robcrompton says:

    Lovely photo, lovely poem. They both ring bells with me and remind me of my Cheshire childhood and pond dipping in magic places.

  3. Patsy says:

    Thanks for the mention!

    I love that poem – it inspired one of my stories.

Leave a Reply

