It’s offishul – I cant spel!

I came second in Mitch Lavender’s Grate Righter Bad Speler Conetest 2012!

This was an unusual competition because the objective was to write a complete story in under 100 words using the most atrocious spelling possible.

Unfortunately mine wasn’t quite good – or bad? – enough to win. The judge, a teacher, said that they really liked the story because it was “clear cut, with a beginning, middle and end and a twist, all in under 100 words” but that “the spelling wasn’t quite as imaginative as the winner, which placed it second using the composite score.”

So, I guess I’ll just have to get practicing my bad spelling for next year… 🙂

In the meantime, I look forward to wearing my ‘I read banned books’ T shirt and reading Mitch’s anthology Death Zone & Other Stories.

Oh – here’s my wee story, but I warn you, it might give you a sore head.

Deer Mom…

About seaviewwarrenpoint

I am a writer and artist from Warrenpoint, Northern Ireland.
This entry was posted in Writing, writing competitions. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s offishul – I cant spel!

  1. oHH comgwatulashuns!

  2. Fangs vary mutch, Pasty! 🙂

  3. Maxi says:

    Well done! I can imagine that was quite hard, if you’re used to spelling well normally. Kind of like comedians who pretend to play the piano badly when you know they can play well. I expect it made your brain boggle!

Leave a Reply

