Precious stones haiku for Semana Santa (Holy Week)

I have just discovered the editor of this journal commented on one of my haiku in his ‘precious stones’ thread, which was a lovely surprise. Sketchbook 7

I also seem to have adopted a new title – I am referred to as ‘X’ above my photo in this publication!

I was referring to an incident during an Easter holiday in Estepona, Southern Spain, during Semana Santa a few years ago. It was good Friday and the procession had been called off due to torrential rainfall. I was chatting to an old man who was one of the the cofrades – a member of one of the town’s cofradías or religious associations responsible for the religious statues used in the Semana Santa processions. The old man was very upset that the celebrations had to be stopped. Indeed, several people were openly weeping. Rain was streaming down the face of the Madonna and he told me to look at her tears, as they were made of real diamonds.

When I saw the prompt for the precious stones thread on Sketchbook, I immediately remembered his words.
____________________________________________________

Quote from John Dreiden’s article ‘Touchstone Perspectives’ in Sketchbook.

“In this Haiku Thread the haijin have used the “diamond” image to honor many different themes associated with human life; the religious aspect of life is one theme among many. Marion Clarke’s haiku commemorates the Madonna and the life of Christ in this haiku:

holy week procession—
the Madonna’s tears
are real diamonds

# 188. Marion Clarke, IE

Holy Week is the week which precedes the great festival of the Resurrection on Easter Sunday, and which consequently is used to commemorate the Passion of Christ, and the events which immediately led up to it. In Latin is it called hebdomada major, or, less commonly, hebdo inmada sancta, styling it he hagia kai megale ebdomas. Similarly, in most modern languages (except for the German word Charwoche, which seems to mean “the week of lamentation”) the interval between Palm Sunday and Easter Day is known par excellence as Holy Week (New Advent)

In this nearly maximum length haiku Marion introduces the topic with the fragment “holy week procession“;  she ends the fragment with an em-dash creating a full stop which results in a suitable contemplation of the religious image. The following two line phrase introduces two associated images“the Madonna’s tears” which are said to be “real diamonds”; the assertion of line three can be read as a metaphor, or perhaps Marion is referring to a local celebration where the procession does include a statue of the Madonna with real diamond tears.  Either way, the reference to “diamonds” indicates the high worth of this religious event.”

Here is a link to the full article – it’s very interesting if you are into haiku, but probably not if you’re not! http://poetrywriting.org/Sketchbook7-1JanFeb2012/Sketchbook_7-1_JanFeb_2012_Choice_Haiku_John_Daleiden.htm

About seaviewwarrenpoint

I am a writer and artist from Warrenpoint, Northern Ireland.
This entry was posted in haiku, My Poetry, Places and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Precious stones haiku for Semana Santa (Holy Week)

  1. The Sketchbook looks good Seaview (Marion ? Sketch? not sure what to call you now ! )

    I will have a longer look later.
    Good luck with it !

  2. Yes, Patsy, I was going to contact them to say they’d called me X instead of my name, but then I got quite used to the idea!

  3. Oh, you can call me anything you want, maltbyblogger 🙂 ‘X from the USA’ is growing on me (I discovered I had been transported to there from Ireland in another journal published on the same day)

Leave a Reply

