One step for mankind…

between the shell

and seaweed strand

lie ten thousand

grains of sand

This wee poem, ‘One step for mankind’ is featured on Every Day Poets this week. I wrote it in response to the above photo, an ‘everyday inspiration’ prompt on the site.

Growing up in Warrenpoint, which is situated on Carlingford Lough in the north of Ireland, means that I spent many hours of my childhood pottering about in rockpools. Unfortuntely, it is not a sandy beach, like the one in the photo. Ours is mainly shingle, with sand at low tide only. In fact, I remember, when I was young, the local council used to deliver sand by trucks – only in Ireland would they take sand to the seaside!

Sandy beaches always make me think of holidays, collecting shells and long walks at the water’s edge when you can completely cut yourself off from everything and just think about your place in this vast universe…which is what I was trying to capture in this tiny piece. I hope you like it…

http://www.everydaypoets.com/one-step-for-mankind-by-marion-clarke/

Thanks to those of you who have already visited and left a comment or rated it.

UPDATE As of today, 3rd April, this tiny piece is the top poem on Every Day Poets. Thanks everybody for your support…this has made my day. 🙂 It will probably slip off the top slot before I even get to post this – but at least I know it was there for a wee while! http://www.everydaypoets.com/top-poems/

FURTHER UPDATE: You see! I knew it, the minute I posted the comment above along came another poet and knocked me off the top spot!

Well, it was nice to have been there for a couple of days…and I have sort of contributed to my own demise by giving James Graham’s poem , ‘Pieceton Smithy’, such a high score, but it was a very enjoyable read. 🙂

About seaviewwarrenpoint

I am a writer and artist from Warrenpoint, Northern Ireland.
This entry was posted in My Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One step for mankind…

  1. Great poem and congratulations on getting it on Every Day Poets !

    (I have messaged you on TB regarding the OWC Anthology)

    Brenda
    x

  2. Thank you, Brenda!

    (Just replied 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

