Much ado about haiku!

Well, yesterday was the last day of NaHaiWriMo (the little Japanese cousin of NaNoWriMo) which took place during the month of February.

In 29 days, I managed to post the same haiku twice (yes, really – I don’t know how I did that as I wasn’t even halfway through the event at the time) and then I totally forgot about day 15…BUT, I did write a haiku for each day on my weekend break in Donegal, so I was definitely determined.

The whole experience was great fun and it taught me to ‘think in haiku’, in order to produce draft pieces a lot quicker than I normally would.  Although this form is only three lines long, the maximum of seventeen syllables means every word has to pull its weight. This little poetry jaunt also gave me quite a few sleepless nights, as my brain seemed to settle on 2-5 am as the most creative hours of the day for Japanese short form poetry. Anyway, here are a few that seemed to go down well on the site.

Day 4

winter moon
on my wall
shadow play  

Day 9

morning mist…
a wood pigeon’s call pierces
my sadness

Day 17

Donegal hotel break …
we drive through four seasons
in two hours

Day 20

Mardi Gras —
my kids fight over
the last pancake

Day 24

canal mist . . .
a black swan cuts across
the moon

Day 25

sunburst …
Father Murphy clicks the mouse
to change hymns

About seaviewwarrenpoint

I am a writer and artist from Warrenpoint, Northern Ireland.
This entry was posted in haiku, My Poetry, Writing Events and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Much ado about haiku!

  1. If you like haiku, here’s an invitation to visit:
    http://thezenspace.wordpress.com/experience/spring-2012-showcase/
    Pass the word around 🙂

    Marie Marshall
    editor
    the zen space

  2. Congratulations on completing this challenge!

    Think my favouritr is 24 as I felt I could see the whole, beautiful, picture.

    • Thanks Patsy, that’s the one that got the most ‘likes’ on the FB site, but you won’t believe the amount of discussion it has generated on a haiku forum…still ongoing, so I’ll let you know the final version to see what you think!

  3. Awesomeness. I love to see writers challenge themselves and step out of comfort zones, and this is a perfect example of that. You killed it. Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

