NaHaiWriMo – I’m up for it

I’ve decided to commit to participating in NaHaiWriMo this year, the haiku equivalent of National Novel Writing Month during which you write a haiku every day for the month of February. On the NaHaiWriMo site, a prompt will be given each day which you can use, or you can come up with your own inspiration. I sometimes write my haiku from things I’ve seen or heard as I walk my daughter to school, for example, if there’s a particularly striking dawn or the morning sun falls in a certain way on chimney pots. However, I’m sure there won’t be 28 days worth in that short walk so the prompts will no doubt come in very useful.

Anyway, I almost forgotten about this writing event until I spotted it on The Haiku Foundation Blog about an hour ago, so I quickly rustled up a haiku, which is not how I’d usually do it.

Day one’s prompt was ‘apple’ and I drew upon my memory for this one.  I spent a year studying in Bristol after doing my degree in Belfast and I (for some, unknown reason) soon came to associate that part of the world with cider and scrumpy – the stronger, cloudy version.

At the time, I was working on an oil painting of the Clifton Suspension Bridge, which spans the Avon Gorge and I wanted to represent the feeling of elation I had at finishing the painting. I hope you like it! 🙂

my last brushstrokes

on the suspension bridge

I celebrate with scrumpy

 

About seaviewwarrenpoint

I am a writer and artist from Warrenpoint, Northern Ireland.
This entry was posted in haiku, Writing Events and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to NaHaiWriMo – I’m up for it

  1. Like the haiku – it hints at a whole story. Good luck with this challenge.

  2. Thanks, Patsy – I think I’ll need it! 🙂

  3. Rob Crompton says:

    Ah yes, Clifton and scrumpy! Years ago I spend a couple of weeks on a course based there and ever since I have associated that wonderful suspension bridge with the cloudy scrumpy we drank in a nearby pub – don’t think they sold beer, only that lethal brew allegedly made from apples.

  4. I loved Bristol…and you are making me feel homesick now, Rob. In fact, I think I might just go there this summer and order a pint of scrumpy in the first pub I come to!

  5. Marion – you’ve been tagged! The details are on my blog.

  6. 🙂 Sounds like fun, Patsy!

Leave a Reply

