New Year, New Me and all that…

Taken by Brian McCalmont

storm on the lough

streetlights on Seaview

lit by sunrise

Highly Commended: Irish Haiku Society International Haiku Competition 2011

(Photograph by Brian McCalmont)

I knew I shouldn’t have bothered to make any new year resolutions, because once I’ve prohibited myself from doing something, I crave nothing else – or, when I’ve decided that I must make an effort to do something, I tend to avoid it – particularly if involves exercise or spring cleaning.

Within days (or hours, as in the case of rationing my time spent on Facebook)  I had broken most of these resolutions. However, one that I am determined to stick to is that of submitting to more journals and competitions this year. Basically, to apply the ‘if you’re not in, you can’t win’ rule.

So I was delighted to learn during the week that a haiku I wrote recently has been accepted for the next issue of The Heron’s Nest.

I also discovered that several of my haiku are to appear in the SHAMROCK HAIKU JOURNAL: 2007–2011. This is a print edition of last twenty issues of Shamrock, the Journal of the Irish Haiku Society and it comprises works by 248 authors from 38 different countries, which is very exciting to be part of.

And, then,  the icing on the cake was to receive an email yesterday from Anatoly Kudryavitsky, judge of the IHS 2011 International Haiku Society Competition to say that my haiku above on my hometown had been highly commended. A very encouraging start to 2012 – long may it continue. 🙂

I guess that means I’ll have to get down to some serious writing though…

About seaviewwarrenpoint

I am a writer and artist from Warrenpoint, Northern Ireland.
This entry was posted in haiku, Places, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to New Year, New Me and all that…

  1. Congratulations! That’s a really great start to the year – but you’re right it does mean you’ll have to do even more.

  2. I have a similar goal of submitting more work to literary journals. I hope I meet with luck as good as yours. Congratulations! 🙂

  3. Thanks Patsy, it did give me a little boost – but a short lived one, as today I received a bad luck letter from the A Vogel short story comp 😦

  4. Thanks, CB. 🙂 I think you have hit the nail on the proverbial noggin there – a lot of results are indeed down to sheer luck and managing to land the right piece on the desk of the right editor at the right time…

  5. shirley says:

    Well done! Lots of luck with your writing this year.

Leave a Reply

