‘Carlingford Lough’ – published on Every Day Poets today

One of my favourite sights in the whole world is the dawning of a new day over Carlingford Lough. Now I may be a tad biased here, as it was the view from my bedroom window throughout childhood, but I defy anyone who visits Warrenpoint to say it isn’t one of the most scenic areas they’ve visited. Even on a stormy day, Carlingford Lough possesses a wild beauty.

The majestic Mournes and mythical Cooley Mountains, eternally trying to touch on the horizon, are in solid contrast with the ethereal beauty of dawn, with its shades of rose, peach and duck egg blue. Anyway, now I’m getting carried away…

The reason I posted this stunning photograph by Brian McCalmont, creator of the ‘Old Warrenpoint Forum’ (see the ‘Places’ link below), is because it is a wonderfully appropriate image to illustrate my poem, ‘Carlingford Lough’, published today on Every Day Poets.

I hope you enjoy the photo and my poem – feel free to give it a rating and/or comment!  🙂

 

Oooops, I forgot to include the link to the poem – sorry! http://www.everydaypoets.com/carlingford-lough-by-marion-clarke/

About seaviewwarrenpoint

I am a writer and artist from Warrenpoint, Northern Ireland.
This entry was posted in General, My Poetry, Photos, Pics, Places and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to ‘Carlingford Lough’ – published on Every Day Poets today

  1. Marion – I love being able to see this photo to go with the poem you have up at EDP. It’s stunning!

    • A guy I know took the photo. He captured the scene exactly as I had seen it the day I wrote the poem – minus the freight carrier! Perhaps I ought to have included a link to the photo on EDP, but I only found it the day the piece went up…

  2. Can easily see why you love that view.

Leave a Reply

