The power of the press release

In a former life, I was a corporate communications manager in a research and technology organisation in Surrey, UK. Having left the post over a decade ago to raise a family in my native Northern Ireland, I didn’t really think I would be calling upon the skills I’d learned in that post for a long time to come…how wrong I was.

Over the last twelve months, I have discovered my experience has proved very useful in promoting my creative writing and painting, both of which I took up again on my return to Ireland. Because I was used to dealing with the UK trade press, I have found it relatively easy to develop a working relationship with local reporters/editors.

The one tool that has proved instrumental in getting my information into local newspapers is the press release. I have found that a concise news release written in straightforward language – as if you are reporting an event as an outsider – has guaranteed at least some press coverage, sometimes word for word. This has been the case with two anthologies in which I have had stories published and on three occasions to highlight a forthcoming art exhibition. I even managed to get a little piece on The Infection anthology in the Leatherhead Advertiser (Surrey) last week by virtue of the fact that I lived there for a while – even though I left over a decade ago! 🙂

 (It’s only a tiny piece right at the bottom of the page, but it suprised one or two old work mates!)

About seaviewwarrenpoint

I am a writer and artist from Warrenpoint, Northern Ireland.
This entry was posted in PR, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The power of the press release

  1. Well done! It wouldn’t have occured to me to send out my own press release.

  2. Thanks, Patsy. 🙂 I think the key is not to make it sound like a blatant plug for your work (even though promotion is the ultimate objective)

  3. Obvious you are an artist. What a lovely blog and your paintings are awesome..xx

  4. Rob Crompton says:

    Good advice there. Years ago, when I was publicity officer for the local branch of a trade union, I attended a weekend training course run by the union. Among the various topics covered was the techniques for writing a press release. Very valuable experience, that was.

  5. Thanks Rob. I will always remember the first course on public relations I attended. It was held in London and called ‘PR for Absolute Beginners’. I really enjoyed it and learned some very useful stuff.

  6. Col Bury says:

    Food for thought. I’ll try this when the time’s right (don’t ask, it’s complicated!).

    Nice blog, BTW.

    Best,
    Col

Leave a Reply

