Marilyn, The Crow, Hannibal, The Joker et al

“Boys and girls of every age
Wouldn’t you like to see something strange?

Come with us and you will see
This, our town of Halloween

This is Halloween, this is Halloween
Pumpkins scream in the dead of night”

(From lyrics of ‘This is Halloween’ by Danny Elfman)

Well, another Halloween has been and gone in the usual flurry of spider webs and facepaint. By mid-afternoon yesterday, I still hadn’t decided what to wear for the occasion, but when looking up how to apply the make up for The Crow for my son, I spotted a tutorial on how to apply make up to look like Marilyn Manson – problem sorted. Here are the results!

'Marion' Manson!

We adults had a little drink to warm us up before braving a chilly, but thankfully dry, evening. The kids went off trick or treating to a few of our neighbours who expect them to call. Then we headed down to the town square to listen to Hair o’ the Dawg belting out some great numbers. The first thing the kids spotted was a pool with several of those huge inflatable balls you can climb into and walk on water – very cool. Wish they allowed adults to have a go…

We had the obligatory pint of the black stuff in the First and Last while waiting on the fireworks at the docks. It was well worth waiting for – the whole atmosphere of a fireworks display takes my breath away and I just love the smell of cordite in the air.

I must admit, I really enjoyed being Marilyn Manson for the evening. I was talking to a bloke sitting next to us in the pub for a while. He was wearing a bull outfit which he said he’d worn all day – even to university which was 80 miles away. He said he liked my fancy dress costume. I said I wasn’t wearing one. 🙂 When we first arrived, apart from my brother, Hannibal Lecter, we were the only people dressed up in the pub. I kept catching our reflection in the mirror behind the bar – it looked slightly surreal.

 

'This is Halloween'

About seaviewwarrenpoint

I am a writer and artist from Warrenpoint, Northern Ireland.
This entry was posted in Photos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Marilyn, The Crow, Hannibal, The Joker et al

  1. Ah wow what great costumes! If you like dressing up check out my fancy dress competition. Its just a bit of fun.
    http://laughteriscatching.com/2011/10/28/competition-alert-who-dresses-the-fanciest/

  2. marion says:

    Thanks!

    Will do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

