What’s the least amount of money you’ve ever received for your writing?

…and ‘nothing’ doesn’t count!

A couple of weeks ago, I received a cheque for £2 for a letter I wrote to the editor of Emerald Writing Workshops – with a note from him saying he just wished it was for £300 (you need to read the letter to understand this)

Cheers Eddie – one lives in hope! :]

http://www.emeraldwritingworkshops.co.uk/emerald-forum

About seaviewwarrenpoint

I am a writer and artist from Warrenpoint, Northern Ireland.
This entry was posted in writing competitions and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s the least amount of money you’ve ever received for your writing?

  1. So £2 is about $3.75. Amusing that the time and expense to write and mail the check very nearly cost as much, I suspect.
    As for how little I have been paid… not including the gratis submissions to publications which pay nothing and often do not even include getting a free copy of the publication, I was paid .05 cents a word for a series I wrote on online gaming for a now defunct magazine called Challenge. I made about $20.

  2. Yes, Mitch, I was extremely surprised that payment came in the mail. Your $20 is a princely sum in comparison – but then again, yours involved more effort than mine. :]

Leave a Reply

